What I read in November

I know it’s a bit late, but I’ve finally got round to writing my post about what I read in November. I only read two books all month, so it’s going to be a short one, but life has got in the way and I haven’t been able to write this until now.

30369783

All Fall Down – Tom Bale

I enjoy reading food thrillers that suck me in and make me want to spend every waking hour reading them. This book focuses around a family who are having a nice afternoon in the garden when a dying man starts banging on their fence. Following this, things start happening. Is it all just a coincidence or is there more to this family than meets the eye?

This book had a strong start, and did make me want to know what was going on. I found the beginning and end a little slow (although a slow burner at the beginning isn’t a bad thing) and although the middle was very fast paced, it was a little too graphic for me. Overall I enjoyed the book, but was a little disappointed with the ending. I’m glad I read it, as it has helped me to understand what I do and don’t like in a thriller as this a fairly new genre to me, and I know others will enjoy it. I’d recommend it as a gripping thriller that keeps you guessing!

28763485

The Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon

I was really looking forward to reading this book as Everything, Everything is one of my favourite books and I’ve now read it a couple of times. The Sun is Also a Star is another boy meets girl type of story, but is nothing like anything I’ve read before. The majority of the book is set in a 24 hour period and shows how two strangers get to know each other in a short space of time.

I really liked this book and wanted to keep reading it, but also didn’t want it to end. I love Nicola Yoon’s writing style, and I really enjoyed getting to know both Natasha and Daniel, as well as some of the other characters in the book. This book doesn’t shy away from dealing with some of the issues that lots of families encounter, but don’t like to mention including feuds, prejudice and betrayal. I didn’t like The Sun is Also a Star as much as Everything, Everything but still really enjoyed it. Another one to add to my list of great young adult novels, and I want to read more by the author.

So all in all, a good but sparse month for reading in November, but I’m hoping that December will be better!

 

Leave a Reply

