Being kind to myself

Today I’ve taken time to do something I haven’t done for a long time and have been kind to me. I blogged last year about my life events and how I wasn’t really okay. But I got less okay and at the beginning of December my GP signed me off for a month due to the stress of everything that happened and the aftermath that I’m still dealing with both administratively and emotionally.

I’m nearing the end of my time off now, and whilst I am definitely not “back to my old self”, I’m feeling that I’m more able to cope on a daily basis, and can see that I will be okay again. I’ve done my best to metaphorically draw a line under the events of 2016 and take a more positive approach to 2017 and start living my life and looking after myself again.

Today has been a good day for being kind to myself and I’ve taken some time to do things that I enjoy and that I want to for the first time in a very long time (if ever!).

img_5158240I started off my day by being brave enough to go out for a run for the first time since last July. It may not seem like much, but it has taken me weeks to build up to doing it, particularly as I rarely leave the house on my own on foot. I ended up walking a fair amount of my route, was pretty out of breath and realised that I don’t have any winter exercise clothes, but I did it! I started running last year and for the short amount of time I was able to do it, really enjoyed it. So I’ll definitely look to keep this up, along with using my new Body Coach DVD to help me become fitter and healthier.

I also decided today to stop beating myself up about not meeting my goal for 10,000 steps on my Fit Bit on a regular basis. Recently I’ve found it difficult to get out of bed, let alone take regular exercise, so have made my goal realistic and reduced it to 5,000 steps until I’m ready to increase it.

I spimg_5166242ent the afternoon reading and sorting out some of my huge collection of books. I packed some up to go into storage to try and declutter in preparation for when we put our house on the market later this year. I also put all of my books related to mindfulness, happiness and mental health in one place next to my reading chair in the spare room. I haven’t read them all yet, but my favourites so far are The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k by Sarah Knight and The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking.

I then spent 45 minutes pampering myself with some of my favourite products!

img_5169244

I used a clay face mask I picked up from Waitrose which I really like as it makes my face feel really nice after using it, without the redness I’ve felt from similar masks. I used the 2 minute conditioner from Organic Surge that I received a few months ago in my subscription box from Little Bit Lavish. This conditioner leaves my hair really soft and smells lush too! I also used a trio of products from my absolute fave, Miss Patisserie, a Cardiff based beauty company. I used the Peony and Pear Body Scrub which smells amazing and makes my skin really soft. After my bath I used the Mango Body Souffle to moisturise my body, and the Guava Nourishing Face Cream which is my absolute favourite of all of their products.

Following this day of self care and pampering, I’m now cwtched up on the sofa in my pyjamas watching The Undateables.

What do you do to be kind to yourself?

 

 

Leave a Reply

